The Womb
Education Uncategorized

Government To Establish 11 Chairs In Names Of Women Scientists At Institutions Across The Country

Shivangi Sharma and Pragya Jain


Minister for women and Child development Smriti Irani on National Science Day announced that eleven chairs in the names of women scientists will be established across the country to honour their contribution in the field of Science. She said that these eleven chairs not only recognize the renowned women scientists and their contribution but will also inspire women and encourage greater participation of young girls in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics).

The list of scientists include names like anthropologist Iravati Kare, Dr. Kadambini Ganguly amongst others who are pioneers in their respective fields who have made their names in a male-dominated society.

The WCD minister also gave details of the institutes in which the ministry plans to establish the chairs.

A chair in Janaki Ammal’s name will be established in the field of biotechnology as a tribute for her contribution, similarly a chair in any institute of the Indian Council of Agriculture Research, will be established under the name of cytogeneticist Archana Sharma to encourage research work in the field. Organic scientist Darshan Ranganathan’s chair will be established in the field immunology, Asmita Chatterjee’s chair in the field of Phytomedicine and Rajeshwari Chatterjee’s chair in engineering institutes will be established to honour their work in their respective field. The proposal will inspire young girls to take up these subjects and excel in them like these great scientists.  

The 11 eminent scientists are –

Cytogeneticist Archana Sharma, botanist Janaki Ammal, organic scientist Darsh Ranganatham, chemist Asima Chatterjee, doctor Kadambini Ganguly, anthropologist Iravati Karve, meteorologist Anna Mani, engineer Rajeshwari Chatterjee, mathematician Raman Parimala, physicist Bibha Chowdhuri and biomedical researcher Kamal Ranadive. 

Related posts

The Design Student Creating Political Awareness Amongst India’s Youth

Saba Rajkotia

India Ranks 9th in the list of unsafe list of unsafe countries for solo women travellers

Harleen Walia

Women’s U-17 FIFA World Cup in India Postponed due to COVID-19 Pandemic

Saba Rajkotia